Day Four at Buiga Sunrise School

Hi from Uganda!! Today was my fourth day with the Buiga Sunrise kiddos. Every morning my P3 class is waiting to run and give me giant hugs as soon as I step foot close to the room. I am working on story writing and maps with my class. By the end of these two weeks, I should have two writing samples from my students. One will be a classroom story derived from a wordless picture book, and the other will be a collection of the students’ individual maps of their walks to school.

A normal day for me looks like this:

  • 8am – Good Morning Songs
  • 8:30am – Quick Qrite
  • 9am – Read Alouds and Focuses Discussions
  • 9:45am – Literacy Mini-Lesson
  • 10:15am – Brain Break with song and games (like Duck-Duck Goose, which has proved to be a favorite!)
  • 10:30am – School-Wide Snack Break
  • 11am – Quick Write
  • 11:30am – Map Lesson and Activities
  • 12:30pm – Independent Reading
  • 12:45pm – Good-Bye Songs

I love everyday here, and I’m so excited to have his opportunity. I’ve learned so much from these kids, and I can’t wait to see what else this journey has in store!

-Meredith Grace

Leave a Reply

